Labor Day 2012 brought to you by the David Glenn Show

I’m nothing if not grateful. Thursday, I’m at work, working on a spreadsheet for the Executive Officer and listening to (ESPN Radio-affiliate) 99.9 The Fan through the mobile app. If you know anything about me, you know that I always think I’m right, even when I’m wrong. This bodes especially well when it comes to trivia. So as soon as I hear the magic words, “Call in and answer the question to win tickets…”, I don’t even wait to hear the question or what the tickets are to and I’m frantically dialing and redialing to get through to Hayes, the producer of the David Glenn show.

Long story, short: I picked up a pair of tickets to Virginia Tech’s home opener against Georgia Tech on Labor Day night at 8pm. Fort Bragg to Blacksburg is a quaint four and a half hour drive from the house. The game begins at 8pm. Lucky for me, the wife is an avid college football fan. One of those girls that dresses up for the tailgate and stays until they play the alma mater. A year ago, while deployed, on the opening weekend of college football, she sent me a message: “OMG. I LOVE college football. I love YOU, and I love college football.”

Ring shopping commenced shortly thereafter.

Too bad you get Labor Day off but not the day after to recover. We hope to be on the road by 2pm, pending her work schedule, and in Lane Stadium in time for Kickoff after stops for dinner and gas. No problem, right? Only issue is the morning after.

I think I’m going to have to enact the Madden rule: if either team goes up by 21+ at any point in the second half, we’ll have to say goodbye. In the event of a close game, and heaven forbid, overtime, we’re expecting to leave between 11pm and midnight. Putting us back home around 4am. Perfect considering my alarm goes off at 4:30 to make it to work on time at 6:00. It’s going to be a long night.

Expect a full report once I recover.

Leave a Reply

