Same old song and dance.

I sit here, nearly nine months after my last post and so much has changed.

First and foremost, I’ve married my best friend and love of my life, Samantha. I have reenlisted to stay in the Army for the next three years. And, I’ve been promoted to the rank of Sergeant.

As a non-commissioned officer, I’ll be expected to train and lead soldiers, which I’m more than ready to do. But life isn’t just about me, or the Army. I have to learn how to balance a family and a career, which I thought would be easy.

Working daily from 0530 until sometimes 1800 isn’t necessarily a treat. Truth is, I love hanging out with my wife. Between the late nights, airborne operations and the ever often field problem – it can get difficult to make everything work.  Usually, this is where most people would talk about different tips to help, things to remember, or to try to make life go a little smoother. Not today. Life isn’t about making things easy, it’s about making it work. I don’t have all the answers so if that’s what you’re looking for, you’re in the wrong place. I’m willing to bet if you’re on this site, you’re not looking for those answers, though.

I’ve decided that it’s time to start writing again, so you can expect a lot of rambling; and lot of misguided, usually uninformed, ranting. I’ve gotten into a lot of Stolen Valor-type stories, so be ready for that, and there’s an election coming up that always seems to be a big deal. For now, though, I’m off. I hope to be updating regularly, so watch my Twitter-feed if you’d like to play along.

Leave a Reply

